(If this isn't you, check out our Tradespeople FAQs)
We understand things can change and sometimes you need to cancel your job. You can cancel a job from your Builderscrack account; the steps are slightly different depending on what stage the job is at.
If you haven't hired anyone yet
If you're only at the stage of discussing the job details with tradespeople, or if you haven't connected with anyone yet, then cancelling the job is simple.
- From your homepage, go to 'My jobs'.
- Select the job from your 'Open' job list.
-
Click the ‘Close job’ button at the bottom of the page.
Tip: A quick note to any tradies you've talked to, thanking them for their time before closing the job, goes a long way in showing appreciation.
If you've marked a tradesperson as hired
To cancel a job that's already been marked as hired, you first need to undo the hire.
- From your homepage, go to 'My jobs'.
- Select the job from your 'Underway' or 'Completed' tab.
- Click the 'Interact' button next to the tradesperson's name to open your message history.
- Under the 'Hired' tab, click the 'Withdraw' button.
Am I entitled to cancel after accepting a quote?
Before cancelling an accepted quote, check your contract and guidance from Consumer Protection, since you may have obligations beyond just undoing the hire on our platform.
See this article for guidance when things aren't going to plan: What if I'm having issues with the tradesperson before work has started?
Need to repost?
Once a job is closed, you can repost it at a later stage – find out how to repost a job here.